Deutsch

Our Projects

Even if we look very happy - we still work hard. Take a look at some of our work here. We hope it makes you happy.


Office Escape
Mobile Working

New mobility options for creative Berliners.

Creative work can be repetitive too. If ideas and drive are in short supply, creative teams can now book an Office Escape package. We created this service from scratch for Berliners who want to temporarily escape the city to focus on their projects. Teams get a car, accommodation at inspiring locations and catering on demand. More information and registration at

office-escape.de

New Identity Card
German Federal Ministry of the Interior

Research, user tests and service development for additional functions of the new ID card

“It is smaller than the old one, but it can do much more,“ commented a representative of the German Federal Ministry of the Interior upon introducing the new multifunctional German ID card. Together with the Hasso Platter Institute of IT Systems Engineering, we interviewed users to evaluate use case and test the card’s usability. We highlighted opportunities to align the card’s possibilities with user needs and designed a starter kit.

Vom Client zur App (PDF, German language)

Eisenhower Meetings
App Development

Our app to hold efficient and effective meetings

Meetings are boring, endless, and often badly prioritized. Been there, done that. We wanted a tool to break the vicious circle. We designed and prototyped the Eisenhower app, that helps teams to plan, hold, and wrap-up meetings. Rheinfabrik developed the app and you can find it in the App Store.

eisenhower.me/meetings

Mobile Payment
Wirecard/mpass

Testing of prototypes of an innovative mobile payment app

Together with edenspiekermann_, we tested a mobile payment app that utilizes Near Field Communication Technology and optimized its service design. We consulted with the client to re-evaluated the app’s most promising target group and we discovered its core features were received much better in a different demographic than the originally targeted. The app is now owned by O2 and is called mpass.

mpass.de

Moving Ideas
Deutsche Bahn

Inclusion of different stakeholders to accelerate the innovation process.

Large-scale infrastructure, technological developments, and political decisions coupled with many different stakeholders complicate new developments in the railroad industry. As key partners, we helped Deutsche Bahn to launch an online platform and collaboration initiative to accelerate and open up the innovation process.

moving-ideas.net

Design Thinking Wave
SAP

Use cases for a new technology and creation of products and services

Many innovations are based on technological developments, users are only considered later on. SAP had developed the revolutionary HANA technology to analyze massive amounts of data in real-time. With teams across the world, we uncovered use cases and incorporated the technology in services that users actually want.

Don’t Offend
Pro bono project for the Institute of Sexology and Sexual Medicine at Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Motivate non-delinquent pedophile men to take part in preventive therapy.

»Don’t offend« aims to prevent sexual violence against children. It offers preventive therapy for men who have sexual preferences in terms of pedophilia but do not want to act on these preferences. The program offers counseling to non-delinquent men to prevent them from child abuse and from consuming sexually abusive images. As the program exclusively targets men outside of the judiciary system, communication is key. In a pro bono project, we helped Charité to better understand and address potential offenders. They subsequently developed a new communication strategy and restructured their website.

kein-taeter-werden.de

Design Thinking
Workshop Class

Our format to enable everybody to experience the principles of Design Thinking

We regularly hold our own Design Thinking Workshop Class. In one intense and inspiring day, everybody can experience the core principles, methods and tools of Design Thinking. We offer special rates for freelancers, students and unemployed entrepreneurs. More information and registration at…

design-thinking.org

Innovation Camp
Bayer Business Consulting

One-day Design Thinking Workshop for 150 consultants

Twice a year, international Bayer Business consultants meet to evaluate and evolve their business and get inspired. We planned, coordinated and executed a one-day workshop to introduce Design Thinking and apply it to challenges they face in their daily work. Certified Dark Horse coaches led 150 consultants in 32 teams through the process and towards innovative solutions.

Innovation Day
Audi IT

Introduction of Design Thinking and applying it to relevant challenges.

Audi’s IT department has launched a large-scale innovation initiative in 2013. Employees who had submitted challenges or ideas at the internal idea platform were invited to participate in a one-day Design Thinking workshop. We divided the 30 participants into two tracks, one for ideation and one for tangible prototypes. All teams presented their solutions at the closing event in front of management and an international audience.

Thank God it's Monday!
The Dark Horse book

Inspiration for Generation Y knowledge workers to create the work that they want to see in the world.

We wrote a book. With real words on real pages. If you can read German, you can buy it. You can still buy it even if you don’t the title is in English after all: Thank God it’s Monday. We describe how we live and work and why it makes us innovative and happy at the same time. We present our glorious solutions and our even more glorious failures.

thankgoditsmonday.de (in German)

KindlingApp
Innovation Software

A digital tool that fosters corporate collaboration and innovation and is fun to use.

Initial disclaimer: Kindling is not one of our clients, instead we are their exclusive marketing partners for German speaking countries. Kindling is an enjoyable software that enables teams to discover, discuss, manage and select ideas. With Kindling, employees can train their creativity muscles whenever and wherever they want and companies can strengthen their innovation culture.

kindlingapp.com

Learning Journey
Deutsche Telekom

Learning Journey for employees of Deutsche Telekom to experience change.

Managers at Deutsche Telekom certainly know a thing or two about change: The company was transformed from a state-owned quasi-monopolist to a modern corporation. To make employees fit for future transformations, they regularly visit places where they can experience change in the making. We are one stop on their learning journey.

Act Different 2014

Our ideas for a Generation Y-friendly work place in front of a large audience.

Rumor has it, Generation Y wants to work differently. We went on a large stage in front of a lot of people and presented our experiences and our ideas on how to benefit from these differences. At the end of our talk, we confessed that we don’t actually believe in the premise: Generation Y wants community and individuality, flexibility and stability, meaningful work and a fulfilling life - the needs haven’t changed, but the possibilities have.

youtube.com (7 Min. in German)

Collaborative Offices
Lufthansa Technik

Co-designed offices that facilitate collaboration in the IT department.

As Europe’s largest airline, Lufthansa naturally has large offices. With participatory research, interviews and workshops, we involved 400 employees and deeply analyzed their routines, communication flows and blocks. We designed and co-created an office space with more than 3.000 m². and room for more than 200 work spaces that enables collaboration and concentration at the same time.

Disk Whiteboard
Out of the Box

A versatile, expandable and sustainable whiteboard.

Whiteboards are an essential tool for creative work. However, just when ideas start to flow, their space is filled up. We invented a flexible whiteboard that easily expands when the demand for space increases. Teams can mount light-weighed whiteboard disks on an eco-friendly carrier system. We partnered with Room in a box, who finalized the design and scaled the production. More information and shop at…

outofthebox-shop.de

Co-Research-space
Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft

Conceptualization, plan and implementation of a co-research space.

Humboldt University zu Berlin, Universität der Künste Berlin and the Berlin Social Science Center joined forces to co-found the Institute for Internet and Society. Although both the internet and society are rather broad, the Institute has limited space. We designed a working space where researchers can collaborate, concentrate, get inspired and even host events.

Dark Horse Headquarter
Our workspace

A space to work that feels like a place to live.

We needed an office with more functions than a Swiss army knife: a section to work in solitude, a large collaboration zone, and space suitable for workshops, with a kitchen and a lounge and a ball pit pool, of course. We wanted a workspace that feels like a living space. To judge if we were successful, just come by. We are located in Berlin Kreuzberg. You can have a ball, too.

Get in touch

English

Unsere Projekte

Auch wenn wir mitunter glücklich aussehen: Wir arbeiten trotzdem. Und das, was dabei mitunter herauskommt, kann sich hier sehen lassen.


Office
Escape
Unser Service für Arbeitsmobilität

Komplette Entwicklung eines Services, der innovativen Berlinern neue Möglichkeiten der Mobilität eröffnet.

Die Tage ähneln sich traurigerweise verblüffend in der Kreativbranche. Dabei muss doch Drive her und Ideen! Als Lösung für dieses Problem launchen wir ab Juli „Office Escape“, einen Service, der es Teams ermöglicht, die Stadt zu verlassen, an inspirierenden Orten Unterschlupf zu finden und gemeinsam fokussiert ihre Projekte voranzubringen. Der Service umfasst ein Auto, Unterkunft in großartigen und speziell für Gruppenarbeit ausgestatteten Häusern, Internet und auf Wunsch Verpflegung. Mehr Infos und die Möglichkeit zu buchen findet Ihr auf der Office-Escape-Website.

office-escape.de

Neuer Personalausweis
BMWI

Begleitforschung, Anwendertests und Entwicklung von Services zur Nutzung des neuen Personalausweises.

“Er ist kleiner, aber kann mehr” sagt das BMI über den neuen Personalausweis. Unsere Aufgabe war genau das auf den Prüfstand zu stellen und gemeinsam mit dem Hasso-Plattner-Institut für Softwaresystemtechnik eine Begleitforschungsstudie über Usability und Nutzerzentriertheit zu erstellen. Zusätzlich haben wir aufgezeigt, wie die Möglichkeiten des neuen Ausweises den Bedürfnissen der Endnutzer gerecht werden können. Wir haben den ehemaligen Bürgerclient in AusweisApp umgetauft und das Starterkit gestaltet.

Vom Client zur App (PDF)

Eisenhower Meetings
Unsere Zeitmanagement App

Eine App, die hilft, Meetings schnell und effektiv zu gestalten.

Meetings sind langwierig bis endlos und häufig schlecht priorisiert. Das haben wir auch an uns selbst gemerkt. Unser Idee war es ein Tool zu entwickeln, dass uns dabei unterstützt, den Teufelskreis zu durchbrechen. Daraufhin haben wir die Eisenhower App konzipiert und prototypisch umgesetzt. Die Entwicklung wurde von der App-Schmiede Rheinfabrik durchgeführt und das fertige Produkt ist im AppStore erhältlich.

eisenhower.me/meetings

Mobile
Payment
Wirecard/mpass

Testing von Prototypen für eine innovative Mobile Payment App.

Gemeinsam mit edenspiekermann_ haben wir ein Prototypentesting für eine Mobile Payment App, die auf Near Field Communication Technologie beruht, durchgeführt. Darauf aufbauend wurde das Service Design an vielen Stellen optimiert. Gemeinsam mit dem Auftraggeber haben wir die Zielgruppe überarbeitet, weil die Kernfeatures der App in anderen Gruppen auf deutlich größere Resonanz stießen. Mittlerweile gehört die App zu O2 und firmiert unter dem Namen mpass.

mpass.de

Moving
Ideas
Deutsche Bahn

Entwicklung und Betreuung einer Innovationsplattform, um Stakeholder besser in den Innovationsprozess einzubinden.

Die Bahnbranche hat lange Innovationszyklen. Technologische Entwicklung, politische Entscheidungen und eine Vielzahl von wichtigen Stakeholdern im Innovationsprozess machen nutzerzentrierte und zügige Neuerungen in diesem Bereich schwierig. Mit Moving Ideas haben wir eine Innovationsinitiative entwickelt, die es den Stakeholdern u.a. mit einer Webplatform und Workshops ermöglicht, gemeinsam an Innovationsprojekten zu arbeiten und den Prozess zu beschleunigen.

www.moving-ideas.net

Design Thinking Wave
SAP

Begleitung bei der Entwicklung von Anwendungsszenarien, Produkten und Services für eine neuartige Informationstechnologie.

Häufig ist Innovation technologisch getrieben und Nutzer werden erst spät in den Innovationsprozess eingebunden. So auch in diesem Fall. SAP hat die revolutionäre HANA-Technologie entwickelt, die es erlaubt große Datenmengen in Echtzeit auszuwerten. Mit Teams auf der ganzen Welt haben wir Use Cases und Services entwickelt, um mit der Technologie möglichst nutzerfreundliche und von den Kunden gewünschte Anwendungsmöglichkeiten anzubieten.

Kein Täter
werden
Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Entwicklung empathischer Kommunikation, um Pädophile zu einem präventiven Therapieprogramm zu motivieren.

Das Institut für Sexualwissenschaft und Sexualmedizin an der Charité Berlin hat mit „Kein Täter werden“ ein therapeutisches Präventions­programm initiiert, dass den Konsum von Missbrauchs­darstellungen sowie sexuelle Übergriffe durch Pädophile verhindern soll. Da sich das Programm direkt an Hilfe suchende Pädophile aus dem Dunkelfeld richtet, die keine juristischen Auflagen haben, ist die Erreichung und Kommunikation mit dieser Zielgruppe essentiell. In einem pro-bono-Projekt haben wir mit Patienten und Therapeuten gesprochen, Wahrnehmungen, Bedürfnisse und Schicksale kennengelernt. Unsere Erkenntnisse dienten als Grundlage für eine neue Kommunikations­­strategie zur Patienten­ansprache und zur Erweiterung der Website, wo Hilfesuchende zur Therapie ermutigt werden.

kein-taeter-werden.de

Design
Thinking
Workshop Class

Unser Format, in dem jeder schnell die Grundlagen des Ansatzes kennen lernen kann.

Der Design Thinking Jedermann Workshop findet regelmäßig statt. Das Dark Horse Team bietet innerhalb eines Tages Einblicke und Erfahrung in Design Thinking Kultur und Methode. Jeder kann so am eigenen Leib erfahren, wie ein Design Thinking Projekt funktioniert. Wir bieten extra Tarife für interessierte Selbstzahler an. Auf designthinking.org findet man alle Informationen für unsere Design Thinking Class.

design-thinking.org

Innovation
Camp
Bayer Business Consulting

Planung und Durchführung eines Design Thinking Ein-Tages-Workshops anlässlich des Bayer Business Consulting Camps.

Die halbjährliche Zusammenkunft der weltweit operierenden Bayer Consultants stand unter dem Motto Innovation. 32 Teams mit insgesamt 150 Teilnehmern entwickelten an realistischen Herausforderung aus dem Umfeld des Konzerns und innerhalb des Konzerns Lösungen, um Impulse für ihre Arbeit zu setzen und Grundlagen des Design Thinkings zu erfahren.

Innovation
Day
Audi IT

Ein-Tages-Workshop für 30 Mitarbeiter, um Design Thinking Grundlagen anhand Audi-spezifischer Problemstellungen zu erlernen.

Die Audi IT-Abteilung fährt seit 2013 eine große Innovationsoffensive. Im Rahmen des ersten Audi Innovation Days waren wir zuständig für mehrere Innovationsworkshops. 30 Mitarbeiter, die über die hauseigene Innovationsplattform Ideen oder relevante Problemstellungen eingereicht hatten, wurden eingeladen. In zwei Tracks, einem für Ideenentwicklung und einem zweiten für Prototyping und Testen, entwickelten je drei Teams in Windeseile Lösungen. Auf der abendlichen Mitarbeiterversammlung präsentierten sie diese vor mehr als 1000 Mitarbeitern aus aller Welt und dem Management. Fortsetzung folgt.

Thank God it's Monday!
Das Dark Horse Buch

Ein Buch über unsere Innovations- und Arbeitskultur, das zeigt wie jeder von den Ansprüchen der Generation Y profitieren kann.

Es ist da. Das erste hochoffizielle Dark Horse Buch kann man seit September kaufen. Wer einen Blick hinter die Kulissen unserer Kommerzkommune werfen möchte, bekommt Einsichten in unseren Kampf für eine Arbeitswelt, von der seit dem Bauhaus keiner mehr zu träumen gewagt hat. Die GenY braucht Futter und Waffen. Unser Buch ist für alle, die die Arbeitswelt umkrempeln wollen und für die, die darunter leiden. Geniale Lösungen und noch genialere Fehler. Alles drin.

thankgoditsmonday.de

Kindling
App
Innovationssoftware

Ein Tool das soziale Kollaboration und Innovationsentwicklung in Unternehmen unterstützt.

Vorneweg: Das ist kein Kundenprojekt, sondern wir sind der Exklusiv-Vertriebspartner der Kindling Software im deutschsprachigen Raum. Kindling ist eine Softwareplattform auf der Mitarbeiter Innovationsprojekte anstoßen und managen, Ideen teilen, sammeln und sortieren und die Projekte vorantreiben können. Das ersetzt natürlich keine Innovationskultur, hilft aber gerade größeren Unternehmen dabei Innovationsbemühungen zu kommunizieren und dabei, dass Ideen den richtigen Ansprechpartner finden.

kindlingapp.com

Learning
Journey
Deutsche Telekom

Dark Horse ist eine Station der Telekom Learning Journey zum Thema Change Experience.

Die Telekom hat auf dem Weg vom Staatskonzern zum modernen Unternehmen viel Wandel miterlebt und wird noch sehr viel mehr erleben. Um den Mitarbeitern die Konsequenzen und Chancen dieses Wandels erlebbar zu machen, kommen regelmäßig Teilnehmer der Learning Journey nach Berlin und besuchen unterschiedliche Stationen, an denen der Wandel passiert. Dark Horse ist eine davon. Hier können die Teilnehmer aus erster Hand erfahren, was neues Arbeiten bedeutet, wie sich neue Organisationsformen herausbilden und was das Ganze mit Design Thinking zu tun hat.

Act Different
2014
Vortrag zur Generation Y

Ein Vortrag über die Erfahrungen der Generation Y in der Praxis und unsere Ideen für neue Arbeit.

Thema der Act Different 2014 war kreativerweise: “Act Different”. Glücklicherweise durften wir auf dem Podium stehen. Der Vortrag mit dem konservativen Titel: “Deine Mudder ist Gen Y” war dufte.
Überzeugt Euch selbst im Video.

Video (7 Min.)

Kollaborative
Büros
Lufthansa Technik

Konzeption und partizipative Planung eines neuen Büros für die IT-Abteilung.

Wer Flugzeuge fliegen kann, der kann auch in einem Großraumbüro kreativ sein. Natürlich nicht in jedem. In einem partizipativen Rechercheprozess mit über 400 Mitarbeitern haben wir durch Interviews und Workshops Schnittstellen und Arbeitsweisen der Mitarbeiter studiert und ausgehend von den Bedürfnissen einen Office Space entworfen, der in den meisten IT-Abteilungen der Welt Neid und Hass zu Tage fördert. Der Space fördert Austausch, Kollaboration und konzentrierte Stillarbeit und bietet mit über 3000 m² Fläche Platz für über 200 Arbeitsplätze.

Disketten
Whiteboard
Out of the Box

Ein Whiteboard, das transportabel ist, umweltfreundlich und viel Platz für gute Ideen bietet.

In unserer Branche sind Whiteboards wichtige Werkzeuge für die Arbeit, aber sie haben ein Problem: Sie sind immer voll. Fotodokumentation ist oft nicht ausreichend, um die vorhergegangene Session zurück ins Leben zu rufen. Darum haben wir ein neues Whiteboard erfunden. Auf einem Trägersystem lassen sich Whiteboard-Disketten austauschen und so Sessions jederzeit wiederherstellen. Nach der Idee und einigen praktischen, aber weniger schönen Prototypen, haben wir ein Venture mit der Kartonmöbelschmiede Room in a Box gegründet, die das finale Design und die Produktion übernommen haben. Das innovative Reboard-Material ist auf Papierbasis hergestellt und komplett recyclebar. Unsere Whiteboardserie kann man kaufen.

outofthebox-shop.de

Co-Research-space
Alexander von Humboldt Institut (HIIG)

Konzeption, Planung und Umsetzung eines gemeinsam genutzten Forschungsraums.

Mitten im Herzen Berlins haben die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Universität der Künste Berlin und das Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung das Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft gegründet. 
Unser Raumkonzept passt sich den unterschiedlichen Modi der Zusammenarbeit an. Es ermöglicht kollaborative Forschung, Stillarbeit, soziale Interaktion und sogar Veranstaltung auf kleinstem Raum.

Dark Horse Headquarter
Unser Arbeitsraum

Ein Ort an dem wir arbeiten und auch sonst nicht mehr so gerne wegwollen.

Unser eigener Workspace lag uns natürlich besonders am Herzen. Er muss schön sein und funktional. Er braucht einen Stillarbeitsbereich, eine Kollaborationszone, muss für Workshops geeignet sein, eine Küche haben und natürlich ein großes Bällebad. Unser Workspace ist eine Eier legende Wollmilchsau. Ob das funktioniert hat, kann man sich gerne bei Interesse anschauen. Wir freuen uns über Besuch.

Kontaktieren Sie uns